Every fall the Illinois Design Educators Association solicits nominations for selection of one of the best Illinois drafting educators. The tradition and award began in 1989 after the IDEA’s sudden loss of fellow drafting educator R. Tim Phillip to cancer. Tim would be proud to know that he received this award posthumously (*) in 1989 from the IDEA membership, just as those who have received it have been proud to follow his lead. Thank you Tim, and thank you to all the IDEA members who take the time to nominate one of their own!  In 2016 the board also added the friend of the IDEA award which replaced the vendor of the year award.  The friend of the IDEA is meant to recognize service to the organization or the profession as a whole in the state and can be a member, vendor, or trade member.  The link to nominate is below:

IDEA Educator of the Year Friend of IDEA
2019- Janelle Nordtvedt   2019-
2018- Dale West Joliet Central High School 2018 Antigone Sharris and Frances Figg – Triton College
2017 Thomas Blake Plainfield South High School 2017 William Hinton – Trophys Are Us
2016 Jeff Brown Lockport High School 2016  Scott Boudreau – Regional Director Joliet Junior College
2015 Kevin Weston Rend Lake College  
2014 Don Whitman Normal Community High School  
2013 Howard Miller Batavia High School  
2012 Corey Duzan Neuqua Valley High School  
2010 Jerry P. Hund Bartlett High School  
2009 Philip Jerbi Genoa-Kingtson High School  
2007 Louis H. Torres Niles North High School  
2006 Michael A. Pass * Herrin High School  
2005 David Ball Waubonsee Community College  
2003 Steve Skorup Waubonsie Valley High School  
2002 Jerome C. Malitzke Moraine Valley Community College  
2001 Steve Schuerman Lewis and Clark College  
2000 Gary Goble Bartlett High School  
1999 Paul Junkoski West Chicago High School  
1998 Dr. Richard Knudsen Fenton High School  
1997 Richard Johannsen Adlai E. Stevenson High School  
1995 Byron Urbanick Oak Park High School  
1994 Chuck Morrison Deerfield High School  
1993 Matt Vanlerberghe Warren Township High School  
1992 Kenneth Perdue Lockport High School  
1991 David Dean West Chicago High School  
1990 Mark S. Schwendau Kishwaukee College  
1989 R. Tim Phillip * Evanston Township High School  

* Indicates Award Presented Posthumously

Upcoming Dates:

Regional Registration Deadline: February 1st, 2021

Regional Competition- Late February-Early March TBA Possibly Virtual

State Competition: April TBA Likely Virtual



Become an IDEA member